About Us

WCPA was established on April 1, 1995 as an Intermunicipal Services Agency under Section 54 of the Municipal Government Act to allow a municipality to enter into an agreement with their municipalities for the performance of any matter or thing judged to be of benefit to them and this agreement is known as the Master Agreement. Under this Master Agreement the subscribing municipalities wish to set up an organization to provide them with land use planning, subdivision processing and associated services.

The 4 owner member municipalities and our Board of Directors are:

  • County of Wetaskiwin No. 10, Councillor Lye Seely (Chairman)
  • Town of Millet, Councillor Vicki Pyle (Vice-Chairman)
  • Ponoka County, Councillor Doug Weir
  • City of Wetaskiwin

On top of those 4 municipalities, WCPA has an agreement to provide planning services with the following 15 member municipalities.


Daysland, Drayton Valley, Thorsby and Killam



Summer Villages:

Argentia Beach, Crystal Springs, Golden Days, Grandview, Itaska Beach, Ma-Me-O Beach, Norris Beach, Silver Beach, Sundance Beach, and Poplar Bay

West Central Planning Agency structure:

WCPA Structure-2014

Inside the Encompass Credit Union Building of Wetaskiwin